Tuesday, June 8, 2010

How long does a Michigan divorce take?

By: Kathryn M. Cushman

In Michigan, if there are no children are involved, a divorce can be granted in as little as 60 days. If there are minor children are involved, there is a six month waiting period before the divorce can be finalized. Sometimes, judges will waive part of the waiting period if parties are ready and have resolved all issues, but not always.

These timeframes are minimums dictated by law. Generally, divorces take much longer than what is described above. It depends on the case, the complexity of the issues involved, the level of contention between the parties, the court's docket and many other factors.

In order to file for divorce in Michigan, you must be a resident of the state for at least 180 days (six months) and a resident of the county in which you are filing for a minimum of 10 days.

For more information about the divorce process and for answers to your specific questions, contact us at Hickey, Cianciolo, Fishman & Finn PC.

No comments: